Taking the Challenge! Say No to Palm Oil

April 23, 2017: (Appropriately. The day after Earth Day and the March for Science)

I am embarking on a journey to remove palm oil from all aspects of life: my pantry, my fridge, my shower, and my washing machine. I plan to journal my experience and to periodically post my challenges here on EcoMouthpiece as a source for others embarking with me. I hope to persuade others to find their own personal journey to a life without palm oil.

Are you ready to go deforestation free? Say No to Palm Oil was an organization started by Thomas King in 2010 when he was only 13yo! The movement is operated by Thomas and his director of research Molly Oray. Read their bio it is incredibly inspiring and see their website for the details on the 28 day Palm Oil Challenge:

The 28 day challenge was developed to assist conscious consumers cut out palm oil. The challenge is divided into four parts: the pantry, the fridge, the bathroom, and the laundry. The challenge recommends tackling one section each week for a month.

During this challenge, I hope to address the inaccessibility to palm oil free products. The largest markets for deforestation and palm oil free products are in Australia and New Zealand. In the United States, I experienced challenges with finding toiletries (especially deodorant and toothpaste without palm oil). This is an issue that we, as consumers, can confront. If the demand grows in the United States (my origin), Chile (my current home), and other countries (my next destinations 😉) the markets for deforestation products will follow.

So, are you ready?… When and if you are ready, I encourage you to personalize your journey. To personalize my journey, I am also encorporating 30 days of yoga 🤸🏽‍♀️ with Adriene and applying to become a 5Gyres ambassador.

  • 30 days of yoga with Adriene

    Through her platform, Adriene shares free and positive yoga practice. She is quarky, uplifting, and perfect for every body at every level. She has added a much needed guide to my life during a challenging transition and will continue to guide positivity through the next 30 days and beyond.

  • 5Gyres ambassador

    As an Ambassador I will work to remove disposable plastics (single use and nonrecyclable plastics) from my life. The mission of 5Gyres:

Our mission is to empower action against the global health crisis of plastic pollution through science, art, education, and adventure. Our vision is a world free of plastic pollution!

FAQ:

I read that by 2050, there will be more plastic in the ocean than fish. Is this true?

Yes—if calculated by weight. This media-friendly statistic emerged in a 2016 report on the “circular economy,” a concept embraced by 5 Gyres in which plastic products are better designed to never become waste, but to be perpetually used or recycled.

The New Plastics Economy report also projected that by 2050 the plastics industry will consume 20% of oil production. The point is to highlight the fact that because most plastic is used only once, 95% of its economic value—worth up to $120 billion annually—is lost.

If you are ready to embrass a plastic free life, see their page for information about becoming an ambassador. #5GyresAmbassador

If you decide to take the journey please reach out to me, I would love to hear from you. Challenges are better with company! And if you have not already see my posts There is Blood in our Cosmetics: Take Initiative against Palm Oil and The Devastation that is the Palm Oil Industry. Remember to have a beautiful day because you are lovely. -LL

15 thoughts on “Taking the Challenge! Say No to Palm Oil

    1. Hello! thank you so much for reading my post and for your interest in the issue! If you are interested, I completed the challenge about two months ago and all the updates and educational articles are under the palm oil challenge tab.

      I highly recommend the riddle with 200 names if you want to do the challenge. I have continued to not purchase palm oil (including sustainable) and I have lived nearly palm oil free every since I began the challenge! (Im still finishing up the last of my toiletries). I am planning to release a brief update soon about the continued life without palm oil and my progress towards a zero-plastic and zero-waste life.

      If you have any questions let me know!! I am excited for your journey and I hope you decide to take the challenge 🙂

      Like

    2. Oh will definitely check that out then!

      That’s amazing and very inspirational! Will definitely try the challenge, although I will be using a mix of palm oil free and sustainable products!

      Many thanks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. We should all get on board this idea. The only solution is to remove any palm oil products from our lives although the industry is so massive that it will probably never be fully shut down. I know that in Indonesia (which has a thriving industry) there are now palm oil plantations which at least will counteract the CO2 emissions and in the future may one day celebrate “sustainable” palm oil

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

