A Glimpse into my Chile World

By request (@Bhavana Jha). Here is a glimpse further into my Chile experience:

Leaving behind my family in New Mexico, and my doctoral program in Delaware, I moved to Chile for 10 months of reasearch. Just before the 2017 new year, with three bags and a ticket stamped Santiago 🇨🇱, I boarded my southbound plane.

Stretching the distance of New York City to Bogota,  Chile is the longest country in the world at 2,653 miles (4270 km). And maybe more astonishing is the aspect ratio of Chile’s width to length at 4/100. For context, the average width from Pacific Ocean to the Bolivia and Argentina border is a mere 110 miles (177 km). Chile is cuddled against the west coast of South America beside the Pacific. The Andes run the length of the country, making the mountains and oceans practically unavoidable. During my time here, I have been blessed enough to travel. First to Valaparaiso, a standing and living museum of street art. I spent the New Year Celebrations in the streets celebrating with thousands eating empanadas and gazing at the miraculous fireworks. Then to Pichilemu, one of the premier surf capitals of the Pacific Coastline. A dear friend and I braved the frigid surf! And my most outstanding journey to date, I flew far south to explore southern Patagonia: by bike and by boot.

Most weekends, and when I am not backpacking in a pocket of the Andes or busing 🚌 to the coastline, I am sitting in one of the lovely cafes, walking distance, from my house writing here to you! While the intentions for EcoMouthPiece precede Santiago, the in entirety of this blog was created and has flourished here in Chile.

As with every post, you are lovely! So have a beautiful day 🌼

-LL

IMG_0011

8 thoughts on “A Glimpse into my Chile World

  1. Hi Laura: Thank you for your kind note–I enjoyed your article about water consumption. We use so much water in the US compared to other countries and I’m sure that most of us have really no idea how good we’ve got it. I always appreciate comments about having difficulties with my site. I had to remove the “like” button from my articles because it simply prompted the reader to sign up for their own WordPress accounts (which they didn’t want to do). I’ve tried one or two other plug-ins but they screwed up the formatting for my site, so for the time being I’m not going to worry about it. I’ve been lazy the last couple of weeks and not posted any new articles–I’ve got several that are partially completed. I need to get back at it and finish my article on Green Stormwater Infrastructure successes in Milwaukee, WI. That will get posted next. In the meantime, I’m attending a meeting tonight about address the homeless crisis in Seattle. I think that will be both enlightening and probably sad. One of the panelists is a young woman on the brink of homelessness. Take care, Jennifer

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I wish it were a better practice for people to turn off the faucet, I really hate when it is left running!! And with regard to your articles I complete understand I have propbably eight articles at different phases of completion… It is a struggle maintaining a steady flow of articles and a job. Especially research articles. And the meeting, wow! it sounds both fascinating and very raw. I hope that you leave your meeting inspired 🙂 Cheers and good writing!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely photography Laura and it’s a great mission that you have undertaken. I hope you have success! I launched my own site in June to post articles about the water industry. I haven’t chosen a specific “niche” yet so my subject matter is still a little scattered–I like everything from waste water treatment to street art (two subjects that don’t really belong on the same site!). Check it out at CurrentWater.CO. I’ve just been asked to become a mentor with Coursera.Org for a Business Writing class, so if you’d like any advice, please just let me know. Best wishes, Jennifer

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I checked out your space and I think it is wonderful. I tried to comment on a post, but for whatever reason wordpress does not recognize my account on your site. Regardless, I loved your post about water being a luxury. And, I read your “about me” section. I think your writing about water is fantastic and so important. Ironically or not? I also find water very interesting an important. Two of my first posts on EcoMouthpiece were with respect to water consumption:
      https://thebittergreentruth.wordpress.com/2017/03/23/facing-water-consumption/

      Regarding your other offer, I take a lot of pride in my writing and I do not have nearly the time to perfect it on this site the way I would like. That said, I am always looking to grow and love any feedback I can get! Thank you, any comments you have are welcome.

      Like

Leave a Reply

